Applications are now open for three awards which will be made by NZIP this year. The deadline for applications is 5 pm on Friday 19 May, and awards will be presented at the NZIP & PHYSIKOS Conference at Massey Albany in July.

This year’s awards mark an exciting new start for the NZIP awards, which have been reformed following consultation with members. The three awards are: 

The Dan Walls Medal (biennial)

Presented to the physicist working in New Zealand who is deemed to have made the greatest impact nationally and/or internationally in their field through predominantly New Zealand based research. Applications may be made by New Zealand-based teams in extraordinary circumstances. 

Te Tohu mō te Whaihua i te Mātai Ahupūngao – Physics Impact Award (biennial)

Awarded to an individual (or team) who makes a significant contribution to the field of physics and its impact in New Zealand. Contributions could include, but are not limited to, activities in the areas of:

    • Communication and promotional activities enhancing the public visibility or popularity of physics.

    • Commercial and industrial success of physics research.

    • Promotion of equity initiatives and/or mātauranga Māori in physics.

    • Development of interdisciplinary frontiers with physics playing a leading role. 

The Rutherford Trophy (annual)

Awarded for innovation in physics education that enhances New Zealand students’ understanding of physics or participation in physics education, and shows a strong link to the teaching or practice of physics experiments. This could involve (but is not limited to) demonstrations, resource development, or innovative teaching practice. It is open to anyone teaching physics in NZ. 

Application Information

Applications should be sent to the Honorary Secretary at

Further details about the awards and the application process can be found at this link.